In Their Shoes by Jamie Windust review: a beautiful memoir

I was given a free copy of this book by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. 

CW: sexual assault, fetishisation of trans and nonbinary people

[Image Description: the cover of the book ‘In Their Shoes’ by Jamie Windust. The cover is yellow with pull quotes at the top, and the title in the centre of the cover with ‘in’ and ‘shoes’ in white and ‘their’ in a multicoloured collage. Jamie Windust is written under the title in pink, and the book’s subtitle, ‘Navigating Non-Binary Life’, is written underneath that.]

As a nonbinary person, it’s hard to find books that represent my identity or my experiences, especially in a world that is still not very understanding of said identity. For that reason, I was so excited to read In Their Shoes by Jamie Windust, a memoir of Jamie’s early life up until now as they negotiate life as a nonbinary person, talking about relationships to family to work life and, more generally, how we’re perceived by those around us.

In Their Shoes is a fantastic memoir. The tone is relatable and reads like a friend telling you about their life, inviting you to share in their experiences. In that way, I loved this book. There were moments I laughed out loud, and moments I wanted to reach through the pages and give Jamie a hug. The only thing that didn’t really work for me were the list of tips in this chapter, as they didn’t quite fit with the tone of a memoir to me. Windust expresses several times within the book that their experiences are not universal to nonbinary people, and as a result these tips end up sounding quite generic. That being said, they are tips that I would probably have been very reassured to here in my earlier years. I do not doubt that for readers of this book who are earlier on in their journey to accept their own identity than I am, these tips will be a reassurance and affirmation.

It’s so nice to finally hear the stories of nonbinary people told through great memoirs like In Their Shoes. I hope it’s the first of many opportunities for nonbinary people’s voices to be heard, and more importantly, listened to.

Leave a comment